Ode to Pollen

Spring is in the air,
But not alone up there.

Shorter nights and warmer days
Call forth grass, trees, and yellow haze.

Roses are red, violets are blue,
Oak tassels are green, clinging like glue.

Myriad plants with hearts aflutter
Make love in the wind, stamens clogging the gutter.

The car’s chartreuse, the driveway mustard.
Pollen up your nose makes it run like custard.

Tiny proteins smother me in kisses
Working hard to keep Kleenex in business.

My eyes are red, my brain deep fried,
Without antihistamines, I’d sneeze ’til I died.

Rain alone brings real relief,
But extra mowing causes me grief.

A wet rag over the face promises sleep.
Winter’s over, and spring is a bleep.

Leave a Reply

